Understanding Banner Adertising
What is banner branding?
A banner ad is a graphic that is displayed on a network of websites. When someone clicks on that banner, they are taken to the site of the human
, or company, that owns the banner.
Most banner marketing script operates on an "exchange" basis, meaning that you usually have to add someone elses banner to your web site. Every instant someone elses banner pop ups on your web site, you earn credits to have your banner displayed on the selling
network.
Here are some terms you positive need
to understand
about banners:
CPM - Cost Per Impressions
The "M" comes from the Roman numeral for 1,000. So $20 CPM represents $20 per 1,000 displays of a banner
CPC - Cost Per Click
You pay an agreed amount for each click-through to your page
.
CT - Click-Through
A click on an advertisement
which takes the viewer to another page
CTR - Click-Through Rate
This is the number of many people
who click on an advertisement
(banner or writing
hyperlink) divided by the number of displays of the ad, represented in percentages. e.g. 50 people click on an ad that has been shown 1000 times, which works out at: 50/1000 X 100% = 5%.
ROS - Run Of Site
This means your banner will be displayed on most or all pages of the page
.
How Many Impressions Should I Purchase?
You should request a test run of 10,000 or 20,000 impressions. This will give you an idea of how good your banner will be in the page
you wish to market in. If the page
is untargeted, expect results of 0.5-1.0%. If it is targeted, expect anything up to 2 or 3%. It is not unheard of to get click-through rates of 5, 10 or even 15% or higher. Some advertisers have achieved a click-through rate of 8-14%. But this is rare, rather than the norm.
Where Should My Banner Be On A Page?
It is always best to go for the top fold of a page, as the viewer is more likely to notice your banner, while the page is downloading. You will pay a lot less for being on the bottom fold of a page but you will also get a lot less results. How many times have you visited a website and clicked on a hyperlink before ever acquiring to the bottom of the page? If your banner is displayed at the bottom fold, you will be paying for selling
that very few all the people will actually see.
Where In A Site Should I Advertise?
Most sites only offer "run of page
" selling
, while some will offer banner spaces, explicit
by page/s or section of a page
. If you opt for specific selling
, expect to pay a higher CPM rate for this, but youre likely to get a better click-through rate, as a result.
So What Does It Really Cost?
Well, lets assume that you pay a rate of $10 CPM (1,000 impressions) and your banner achieved a click-through rate of 1%. 1% x 1,000 = 10 click-through. At a cost of $10 CPM, each click-through would cost you $1.
So is that worth it?
Lets say youre a member of FFSI for example:
If one out of every ten visitors joins FFSI with you, and you make $45 in Bonus plus residual income for the next month, then yes - it is assessment of worth
it